Olympics 2012 medal table full information

Olympics 2012 medal table full information can not be found in this blog post. In an attempt to catch some passing trade (someone might google a search term that matches my blog) I have used a title which lots of people might be googling. Tactics. A reader has alerted me to a site that records global rankings of web pages. Mine has risen from 7,417,550 to 6,259,488 this week!

I don’t have much interest in the Olympic medal table myself but I have found the events and interviews I’ve watched very emotional. I’ve shifted from stifled sobs, which were greeted with incredulous cries of “are you crying?” from D1 and Son, to streaming tears which are greeted with raised eyebrows between D1 and Son and tutting. Without taking anything away from the amazing athletes, my children’s reaction is probably based on my tendency to cry regularly at things I see on TV, including a recent episode of the Simpsons.

Last night I utilised a variety of vegetables to cook up a delicious soup to be eaten later this evening. In their pre-soup state the vegetables looked past their best and it crossed my mind to dump them in the compost bin, knowing that if left another day they would be too far gone to be used. I was tired, having already completed the evening meal cooking, washing up and emptying bins events but I dug deep and found the strength to pick up the vegetable peeler and give the soup my best shot. All the years of training I’ve put into cooking paid off and I was rewarded with a gold medal soup (based on one judge’s score). During the selection of the vegetables the recurring question ‘how green can a potato be before it poisons you’ came up. My mother’s answer to this is “just eat it” and I suspect I unknowingly ate many green potatoes as a child. However I am cautious about eating them nowadays and extremely cautious about feeding them to my offspring. A couple of weeks ago I finally got round to googling the question when I was faced with some slightly green potatoes as I was about to embark on a planned meal of jacket potatoes. Worryingly I discovered that some potatoes can contain a poisonous substance even if they haven’t turned green! Reassuringly it is extremely rare that anyone dies from potato poisoning. Armed with this information I went ahead with the planned meal after cutting off the greenest parts and all who ate the meal are still living. I must get around to clearing out the food cupboard and make some decisions about how long past the best before date something needs to be before it should be thrown out.

Another unanswered question I have is “what is the best way to fold a fitted sheet?” I imagine two people would have more success in folding it flatter with the sides evenly tucked in, than one person would but I can’t imagine anyone in my house, other than myself, folding a fitted sheet. I am on my own when it comes to folding bed linen. My current preference is tucking corners into corners but I think with more practise the folding of all four flaps inwards would produce a tidier finish. I must admit I don’t get much practise due to a ‘one day off, wash, dry, on’ technique. Fold in half and roll is quick but looks very messy.

This week I have been ruminating about mugs and how different households deal with them after they have been used. In our house they are used for one round only (a round being a single cup or 2 cups from same teapot brew) and it doesn’t take long for a large number of mugs to join the washing up queue. I was recently re-alerted to the fact that some people use the same mug for a second round of drinks. This is what my mother does, sometimes with a swill and sometimes without, between mid morning drink and lunch. It seems other frequent tea drinkers often use the same mug. Why I don’t do this I don’t know, especially given the tardiness that surrounds washing up in my house. Rodney made me feel better about the accumulation of unwashed mugs though by observing that it looked like we’d had lots of people round. That was enough to deter me from making a resolution to increase the frequency of my washing up.

Other stats news – 2 US views again today. Almost every time I visit my blog, I play out a scenario (internally) where I get a comment from an overseas reader and squeal with excitement. Comments so far have elicited ‘ooos’, lots of grinning and a temporary increase in heart rate but no squeals yet.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

One response to “Olympics 2012 medal table full information

  1. frillipmoolog

    I’m with you on the sheet folding technique Rose (corners into corners) but would every interested to hear your other reader’s thoughts.

Leave a Reply

