Hang on in there

Well, my publicity campaign did indeed generate more views. It remains to be seen whether the new readers will return and push my ‘all time views’ ever closer to the million I’m aiming for. I’m not sure I can rely on my international audience to add to the total. There have been no US views for over a week. Perhaps they are in London for the Olympics and showing up as UK views.

As those who have been with me from the start would testify, I rarely leave my readers without a blog for more than four days and so I am squeezing in this short one to assure the newcomers that I only miss blogging twice weekly in exceptional circumstances. I have just got back from visiting my mother and will be attending interviews tomorrow before venturing to Birmingham for a few days. Hence I can not justify spending time blogging. In light of this I will double blog at the weekend. I am sure a journey into the centre of Birmingham with the AA route map I am about to print off will be quite an adventure. Previous journeys I’ve made with AA route maps have been full of surprises.

I do hope you will all ‘hang on in there’ just as I did yesterday. On a day trip to Knaresborough it seemed a good idea to walk down to the river. The walk down  involved navigating a steep path which had steps in bunches of 4 or 5 every few metres. I’m not over fond of steps but these were a welcome break from the ‘slope’. Using a shuffle type movement I managed to stop my legs running away with me, although the shuffle did turn into a totter a couple of times. This would have been stressful enough had I been alone but having convinced my mother that it was a good idea to walk down to river, she had reluctantly agreed to attempt the descent with me. I used my best acting skills to portray ‘jolly’ whilst inside I was moaning to myself  that this walk was no fun. About halfway down an elderly lady passed us and passed on information about an alternative route, the road, was boring but easier and she would be returning by road on account of her bad knees. Later I was to find out that her bad knees were better than my good legs. There was a clue that this was the case as she soon disappeared out of view because she was going twice as fast as us. My mother and I eventually reached the river and had an ice-cream before I set off to collect the car from the car park at the top of the hill. I passed the path and walked along to the road way. In hindsight the path with its handrail and bends would have been a better choice. The road way had no steps and no handrail just a slope, a very steep slope. A very, very steep slope. 2nd gear steep and long, very long. By the time I’d almost got to the top I was repeating ‘you can do it’ to myself. Earlier I’d heard Bradley Wiggins on the radio saying that when you feel you can’t go on, you can. There’s always another step in you. I don’t think that is true but I did have enough steps in me to get me to the top. My legs hurt. (They never do that at Zumba). I returned to collect my mother and then we drove back up the hill and there walking briskly up  the hill, almost at the top, was the lady with the bad knees! I wonder if she regularly tricks people into taking the ‘easy’ way.

Turned out not to be so short after all. Now I have to go pack.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

Leave a Reply

