I’m NOT a pushover! I’m nice.

Hi there US readers and UK readers! Until a few days ago, each time there was a US view there were 2 views. Alaska and the rest of the US were highlighted on the map so I interpreted this as meaning one reader was in Alaska and one in another part of the US. This assumption was made in haste and I never questioned my thinking which in hindsight was clearly lacking. My understanding of the Stats page has now risen to a new level because the other day there was only one view but the two places were still highlighted. It then occurred to me that the highlighted parts were the total US and the two readers could both be in Alaska or both in the rest of the US. It could be that there are more than two US readers but never more than two on any one day. Watching multiple episodes of CSI has shed no light on how to solve this mystery. It has made me utter the words “Oo that’s clever” lots of times though.  If I got a comment from a US reader I think I’d scream with excitement!

Several years ago D2 and her friend came to our house to do some baking because I was in their words a ‘pushover’.  There was a lot of “she said it” “no, she said it” but the who said it question was never answered with any certainty. Whoever said it was wrong. Just because I let them leave my kitchen covered in cake ingredients and almost every bowl and spoon I owned piled in the washing up bowl, did not mean I was a pushover. It meant I wanted to give D2 every opportunity to experience the pleasure of producing culinary creations and spending time building happy memories with her friend. They didn’t choose to take up the opportunity of developing skills in hiding all evidence of their activity. It wouldn’t take the CSI team more than two minutes to work out exactly what had been happening in the kitchen. I was reminded of this event yesterday when I arrived home after a very intense, tiring day and was greeted by D1 not with a cup of tea (my fantasy) but with a request. The conversation went something like this.

“Can you make me pasta and sauce?”    “No, I’m tired”     “Please”     “No”    “I haven’t eaten all day”      “No, I’m just too tired”      “Can you make something else then?”     “No, I’m not cooking anything”    “I’ll just have pasta with cheese”        “You do it”         Silence for several minutes.  I go to the kitchen to put the kettle on for a cup of tea.        “Can you put some water on to boil for the pasta, please”      I put the water on to boil.       Kettle boils and I make cup of tea. The pan of water is now boiling so I put the pasta in it before returning to the living room.      “I’ve put your pasta on”       “Thanks mum”   Silence for several minutes.     “The pasta will be done”        “Can you put some sauce on it?”       “Can’t you?”         “I thought you were doing it”       “No, I only put it on because I was in the kitchen”      “When are you going back in?”               “I’m not. You need to go and turn it off now”        Silence.    “You need to turn the pasta off”        Silence.      “Are you going to do the pasta?”          “Can you? Please”      “You do it. I’ve been out all day”         “I’ll go after this”  (‘this’ being an episode of Friends with a previously watched score of 3)          “tutsigh”        I get up and add sauce to pasta           “Can you put some cheese on?” (call from living room) “Oh and some cucumber”       I grate cheese and slice cucumber and serve the meal to D1     “Thanks mum”         Silence       “Can you get me some orange juice?”      I get the orange juice.

Some may say ‘pushover’  I say  ‘what a lovely mum’. It sounds so much more positive.

 

Frodo has taped up the pink laundry basket with duck tape. Good as new : )

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

3 responses to “I’m NOT a pushover! I’m nice.

  1. Hey Rose I have a gaffer tape repaired laundry basket too!
    I also have contacts in the US so I could fix a comment for you but that wouldn’t be fair would it….

  2. Erin

    you are a pushover!
    you bought the swimming pool!

Leave a Reply

