Rose to the Rescue!!!!

Some news can not wait until timetabled publishing dates. When a life depended on me I faced my fears and rose to the challenge. Only minutes ago a small frog was in a desperate situation. She was crouched on my hallway floor, frozen in an ‘I might be dead’ position. The cat who’d brought her there was lying nonchalantly beside her. Both frog and I knew that the slightest movement by frog would cause cat to pounce and frog’s jumping ability would be no match for her lightening speed swipes. This same situation has arisen twice before recently and my reaction has been to scream wildly and run into the living room, shutting the door behind me. D1’s reaction is much the same as mine but with less screaming. Frodo then deals with the situation. 

However on this occasion I was home alone. Well not exactly alone – son was upstairs but it was 1.30pm on a Saturday afternoon so I assume he was sleeping and would not take kindly to being woken up to deal with a frog situation. More importantly, I was not alone emotionally as I was having a Skype with D2 and a 6 year old. I showed them the scene via Skype and the unanimous decision was that I had to ‘do something’. With the aid of an empty plum container and a small Boyes bag I got the frog from the hallway to the garden!! How brave am I?? There were a few squeaky screams but I managed to keep these to a minimum so as not to transfer my fear to an impressionable six year old. What she actually witnessed was a cool, calm, collected woman carefully scooping up a frog. Then because the laptop was positioned on the hallway floor D2 and six year old had to wait anxciously for a  couple of minutes watching the shoes, bag and gas canister in the hallway until I returned with the good news that frog had (as I’d suspected) been playing dead and was now jumping in our wildlife area.

Mastering a new technological skill (Skyping) and controlling my screaming on seeing a wild animal in my house has left me feeling very pleased with myself. I’m going to have a fresh coffee to celebrate.

btw the gas canister was left in the hallway about a week ago by ‘none of its my mess’ Frodo. I wonder how long that will stay there for? 

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

Leave a Reply

