blog goes global – not

Evidence suggests that my blog doesn’t appeal to the international audience. The US (ooo, see my comment below)  and German visitors have not returned for a second view and the lone Spaniard from a few weeks ago was also a one night stand. I do feel a little disappointed and would have liked a slightly longer lasting relationship. I’m reminded of the proverb Don’t count your chickens before they’re hatched.  My game of the week is going to be linking something in my life to a proverb everyday. Interestingly, one of the Americans arrived at the blog by using the search term ‘side effects of ironing’. Perhaps they were new to ironing and were feeling some uneasiness about engaging in an activity that could have undesirable consequences. Or maybe they were already suffering and experiencing feelings of guilt due to an ironing addiction which was causing them to spend hours each day ironing and their huge electricity bills were the cause of domestic unrest. Although its not a path I have ever been down, I can imagine how excessive ironing could lead to many problems including making people late for appointments, insufficient sleep due to either late night ironing or worrying about the ‘ironing pile’, repetitive strain injury………and, most significant to me, a lack of time to read ‘amazinglifeofrose’.

On Monday I chose Zumba as the focus of my blog even though another event had a greater impact on me. At the time my emotions were far too raw to try and put into words the extent of my exasperation. The txt mesage was simple ‘the shower’s leaked again’. again was in normal type but in my head and heart it was in capitals and bold and followed by five exclamation marks. A lot of swear words flew around in my head too. I still don’t know the details of what happened as the anger in my voice stopped Frodo carrying on with his recount of how he’s ‘fixed it this time’. (He doesn’t read my blog anymore and this unsupportive lack of interest has removed any reservations I had about exposing the full extent of his diy disasters). One of the bits I do know is that he accused our children of causing the leak by letting the water touch the shower door. Despite being told many times, he still hasn’t accepted that it is normal for water to touch the sides and walls of the shower cubicle. Another of his attempts to divert any suggestion that his previous 4, 5 or is it 6 previous ‘fixes’ are in any way connected to the most recent leak, was to keep repeating that it was dripping into the hall this time not the living room. All it did was draw attention to the fact that now two rooms have been affected. Four days on and there have been no further leaks. A temporary cessation of hostilities in ‘showerland’ reigns. There has been a long period of tension around the shower, leaks are just one of several issues which divide our family. One example that illustrates the enormity of the situation is that years of heated debate has not produced a compromise between those who want to leave their shampoo bottle in the shower and those who want every toiletry to be removed from the cubicle when its not in use. The positive slant to all of this is that my children have had ample opportunities to experience dealing with conflict. 

Tuesday was an eventful afternoon. Son had invited friends round to watch the football so it was tidy time in the house. Living room, hallway and bathroom all reached a 7. To balance this out the front room and D2’s bedroom tipped into a 3 as stuff from the newly tidy rooms was shifted into them. Through facebook I am aware that two of my friends are experiencing the highs of  ‘clearing out’. Maybe I’ll give it a try at the weekend. Booking form has now been sent so my to do list has a space.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

One response to “blog goes global – not

  1. Yeaaaaayyyy!!! Since I started writing this blog entry there have been two views from the US. Could it be the same people? Or has my American readership doubled????

Leave a Reply

