Zumba diaries continued

My blog has gone global!!!! In the past 2 days it has been viewed from Germany and 2 different areas of North America. This is very exciting for me.

Having missed both Zumba sessions last week I have been looking forward to getting back into the swing of things. There were a few changes this week. Firstly, one of the front row zumba women decided to move to the back row next to me. She was obviously unaware of what to expect. The regular back rowers ensure there is a few metres distance between themselves and me but she only left a couple of metres. This resulted in several ‘near misses’ when one of us followed the left/right instructions and the other one didn’t. There was also a discrepency in our travelling to the right/left. One of us managed two steps, the other four steps. She seemed surprised each time I was in the ‘wrong’ place. I wasn’t.

Secondly, some new zumba-ites were present. Their arrival stirred up thoughts I’d put to the back of mind. I do have some questions about Zumba but am too afraid to ask them. One is the question of dress code. Tonight I was sporting an unironed T shirt that belongs to Frodo (it was another quick turnaround night) and a pair of casual bottoms. My Zumba attire changes weekly and depends on what is easily available ten minutes before I leave the house. I have noticed that some people dress in a similar way, both in relation to others in the group and week to week. The overall effect could be summed up as ‘sporty and stylish’. When I first noticed this I put it down to coincidence but I am beginning to think it might be a social norm of Zumba society and I am unintentionally being a deviant. The two new women have added to my confusion by wearing shorts, the short tight variety. I know I should talk to someone about this to put my mind at rest but it never seems the right time to broach the subject. Its ironic that I can blog about it to an international audience but not talk to my Zumba leader or any of the group. It brings to mind the TV programme ‘Embarassing Bodies’ that features people who are too embarassed to go their GP but are prepared to reveal all to the nation. A hazard of flicking through channels is that you may, as I was last week, be caught unawares and be faced with the sight of genitalia whilst eating a late supper. All because someone feels more comfortable sharing with thousands of unseen viewers rather than with a doctor face to face.

Thirdly, Zumba leader, aka ‘wonderful woman’, used the four letter word rather too frequently for my liking tonight. She slipped it in a couple of times early on and then later it was almost every other word. I was quite shocked and eventually put up a mental block each time I heard it. I’m sure it won’t have the same effect on the reader as it did on me so I will put it into context. We were introduced to a new routine and I was enjoying the taps and dips when the first jump was uttered. This was accompanied by a demonstration of a two feet to two feet jump. This is incredibly difficult to do, although wonderful woman makes it look easy. During this routine there were a few more jumps but this was nothing when compared to the stream of jumps scattered amongst the grapevines and marches of a later routine. Is there really any need for such language at Zumba?

btw I was expecting some comments/queries about an abbreviation I used a few blogs ago. I expect a few of you asked a younger person what the letters stood for. Well they wouldn’t know because I made it up for fun to see what reaction it would get. It got none. Perhaps no-one wanted to admit they didn’t know what it meant or more likely no-one cared. It was quite high on my fun chart when I made it up but is now at zero. WDTM – what does that mean? This just goes to show that jokes are never funny when you have to explain them.

It is getting late so I’m going to bed. I may not sleep well though. The forecast for sunny weather has raised the dilemma of which sandals to wear tomorrow.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

Leave a Reply

