A possible new career!

This morning started out much the same as any other weekday morning for me. I got up, went to the bathroom, changed the empty toilet roll for the newly started one on the floor (it appears no-one else in my house can figure out how the toilet roll holder works), got dressed, had breakfast (no left over pudding today) and headed for the front door, carrying my lunchtime yogurt in my hand due to my bag being very full. Squashing a yogurt in would have run the risk of leakage. On a previous occassion this led to a messy work folder and much self reproach and I certainly didn’t want a repeat of this. It was then that a combination of circumstances led to an exciting, possibly life changing, discovery. Firstly it was raining heavily and my car was parked at the top of the street, several houses away from mine. This meant the contents of my open topped bag would get wet on the way if I didn’t take remedial action. An umbrella would have been an obvious choice but then I would have encountered another problem when I reached the car. Coordinating opening the car door with an umbrella in one hand, yogurt in the other and a heavy bag on my shoulder would have been very tricky. Another option was to carry the bag under my coat but my quick thinking discounted this before I went through with it. Again it would have caused problems at the car stage when I would have had to remove my coat to get the bag off my shoulder. I was dallying with the idea of using my elbow pressed against my body to hold the top of the bag closed and trying to assess whether this would make a water-tight seal when a carrier bag caught my eye. It had fortuitously fallen from the bag of carriers that is hanging by our front door. Some of the tesco carrier bags in there have been there so long that they have begun to disintegrate. Better for the environment I know but a cause of irritation when a carrier is pulled out and a shower of plastic snow sprinkles all over the hallway and the multitude of shoes in it. However, the carrier on the floor was relatively new and totally intact. Suddenly it all fell into place – the rain, the distance to the car, the heavy bag, the yogurt in hand, the carrier, the invention!

Within seconds I’d torn the bottom of the carrier open and slipped it over the handles of my bag and pulled it snuggly down the bag. This left a gap where the carrier was torn but another carrier tucked over the top of my work folders and voila! a waterproof bag. What a wonderfully simple but incredible invention. Even I was amazed by my inventiveness. I now have a prototype and an array of ideas. The ‘amazing bag cover’ could be produced in a variety of sizes, styles and designs. Recycling carrier bags may be a possibility but perhaps another material would be more saleable. The design would have to incorporate a flap to do away with the need for a ‘gap filler’. It wouldn’t have to be confined to the wet weather niche market. It could expand into a cost effective way of coordinating outfits – one quality bag with a wide choice of covers. Daytime, evening, work, casual, quirky your imagination is the limit. The marketing gargon is flowing effortlessly from my brain. My own 99p Wilkinsons black fabric bag was transformed by a mass produced Sainsbury’s carrier. Imagine transforming the ordinary to the extraordinary with personalised designs made to order.

My next move is to apply for a patent when I find time in my busy schedule. If my Dragons’ Den recollection is correct then I own the intellectual property rights already because I thought of the idea. This could be the start of a very profitable enterprise. It may well take some time to develop into a business so in the meantime I am very happy for anyone reading this to use the carrier bag cover. Don’t worry about not having the necessary teachnical skills to make your own. It really is quite easy, just read my description and you should be fine. I will try and upload a photo. All I ask is that you acknowledge me as the inventor. I know some of you will be so grateful for such a useful device that you will want to pay me in some way. An uploaded photo of it in use would be appropriate (though perhaps not possible on wordpress.com, maybe facebook?) as would a glass of wine if you see me in real life.

Addendum : The ‘bag cover’ kept 100% of the contents of my bag dry en route to the car and when I arrived in the car park at work I met a colleague, who was struggling with bags and an umbrella. I pointed out my ‘bag cover’ and the response was ‘Oh I noticed’. She noticed.Nothing more was said but what looked to be a forced smile suggested she was a little jealous.

designed and created by rose

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

One response to “A possible new career!

Leave a Reply

