You learn something new everyday, well every Zumba class at least

I’ve had a revelation! It was quite fitting that it happened in a Church. It was the church where Zumba class is held on Wednesdays. For some time now I have been conscious that my fellow zumba-ites do something I don’t. I tend to vaguely listen to the coach, aka ‘wonderful woman’, vaguely watch what she does and then vaguely do some moves which bear a little resemblence to what she does. El Amor, El Amor and the other songs (sample here http://www.amazon.co.uk/El-Amor/dp/B0081N9O14) trigger my disco instinct and my desire to do set moves shifts to very low priority. Others at the class seem to have had access to some knowledge that I haven’t and as a result their moves are all very similar. Well now I have seen the light! It has come to pass that I, by some chance, listened carefully to wonderful woman at the same time as watching her closely. It was a Hallelujah moment. After weeks of ignoring certain instructions because I felt they didn’t include me, I can now do them! Middle feet, inbetween legs and big arms are not body parts!!! They are moves!! and I can do them. I can’t be sure as I was in shock when the lightening bolt struck but I think middle feet and inbetween legs might be the same thing. Big arms are great, so expressive. I am not a full convert though. Fast jumps are verging on extremism in my opinion and I’m not ready to take that step, perhaps my body never will be. For the time being I am happy to revel in my new found knowledge and closeness to the Zumba community. I observed a very touching moment on Wednesday. One of the women who always tries extremely hard to do the set moves (and in all fairness I have to say she usually does very well) had a little slip up this week. At the instruction ‘touch those toes’ she touched the floor. Immediately the women nearest to her made positive comments and actually made this error seem like something she should be proud of. How thoughtful. This woman does have  one slightly annoying habit. When wonderful woman asks ‘shall we squeeze in one more before cool down?’ she responds enthusiastically with ‘yes, go on’. It appears she hasn’t linked my sighs to her response because she often smiles across at me after she’s said it as though she thinks she’s done me a favour by speaking up. To avoid any confusion amongst readers – she hasn’t.

Another major happening for me this week was accompanying Son to an apprenticeship event. He took it all in his stride but there were a few challenges for me. The first one occured as soon as we stepped into the venue. Just inside the door was a refreshment table. If I’d been given a few moments to orientate myself I would have been fine but the drinks lady jumped in with “do you want a drink?” My reflex reaction was a jolly “No thank you” but unfortunately this set off a chain of social exchanges which left me feeling slightly panicked. The doorman got involved “go on, treat youself” and the drinks lady greeted my continued rejections with suggestions of coffee, tea, cold drinks. I was actually wishing I’d said “yes” in the first place because I did quite fancy a coffee but to change my mind might make me look a woman who didn’t know her own mind or a woman who had in fact been lying. The doorman must have sensed that he could influence my decision and he began backing up the suggestions drinks lady was making and saying “go on have one, that’s what it’s there for”. I did want a drink and the conversation was quite frankly becoming a little awkward and so I took control and brought it to a swift conclusion “Go on then, I’ll have a coffee.” The doorman/drinks woman team appeared satisfied with this outcome and moved on to the next parent.

The coffee situation didn’t end there. After the presentation I was faced with the dilemma of what to do with the empty cup. Luckily my role as a mother dictated that I didn’t deliberate too long and so I quickly deposited on a nearby table and joined Son at the first employer stand. Basically the event involved prospective apprentices and their parent moving round the stands in a specific group, listening to information for 5 minutes and moving on to the next stand when the 5 minute whistle blew. Having not armed myself with a pen and notebook to make notes I improvised and found an old train ticket in my bag and wrote my notes on this, in very small writing and abbreviated. I know this sounds a great idea but the plan to use this as a means to decide which stands to return to during ‘free time’ did have a flaw – namely I couldn’t decifer some of my notes. WDTM. lol. I met up with the woman with the 10 house (a previous blog) and we exchanged views on the whirlwind nature of the event. She hadn’t taken a notebook either, she didn’t even have a train ticket but she was cheerful. We had both noticed a mum who DID have a notebook with lots of notes in it. I also noticed she seemed quite grumpy and when her son returned from a stand she sighed and tutted as she flicked through her notebook. He didn’t seem bothered by her reaction but I couldn’t help but feel that, despite a lack of notes and forethought, 10 house Son and Son did have the more supportive mums on the day and we were definitely more smiley.

Must finish now. Sister is on the phone, held at bay by my mother. Last time she phoned I was watching a film and so asked her to ring back later. She put the phone down on me! I will endeavour to build some bridges.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

2 responses to “You learn something new everyday, well every Zumba class at least

  1. I just want to say that I can now go to bed a happy woman, my day is complete. To end on a Rose induced chuckle is all rather perfect.

Leave a Reply

