compromise

There are many many reasons why I have made the decision I have made. It is not a decision I have made lightly and I assessed a variety of options before settling on this one. I have taken into account my aim of spreading smiles through the medium of blogging, my loyalty to the readers of theamazinglifeofrose and the increasing chaos in my life which is accumulating in direct correlation with my blogging.**(see below).

It is NOT my intention to create a wave of despair (though I am aware that some disappointment is inevitable) but I have come to the conclusion that my daily blogging is unsustainable unless I neglect other areas of my life. As previously documented I am a fluctuating five and the house is curently at level 4 and at high risk of falling further. Ignoring the washing up, cooking and hanging out washing has given Frodo the opportunity to take sole responsibilty for getting them done and I’m pleased to report that he has stepped up the challenge. However no-one in the house has been proactive in tidying and hoovering. My own usual contribution could be likened to putting one log on a campfire – it doesn’t make a huge difference but keeps it going until the time and energy are available to pile on more logs and raise it to glorious heights, or at least level 7 heights. The metaphorical campfire is at the present time merely smouldering and without immediate action it will need an enormous effort to get it back to the steady, albeit low, level.

Another factor which has been key to my decision is the conflicting pressures of maintaining a daily blog and being a good employee/prospective good employee which have been building. You may have noticed that occassionally a day has passed without a blog. This has been due to either work related activities or job application deadlines looming. All in all this is a very unsatifactory situation which leaves me feeling guilty and regular readers feeling cheated (I assume this is the case – no one has directly berated me over this).

In an attempt to establish a workable balance I have come to the decision that my blog will become a twice weekly publication. Friday and Monday are the optimum days. Fridays because the weekend lies ahead for doing ‘real life’ things and Mondays because they are Zumba nights and I will be feeling invigorated. For those of you who are not familiar with wordpress, there is a feature called Stats. This allows me check how many people have viewed my blog posts and where in the world they are. It was very exciting when I had a US reader and a Spain reader. This excitement was short lived though. They have not returned for a second viewing. UK readership is unpredictable with highs and lows but so far the numbers have been sufficient to keep me blogging : )  Remember use or lose it!

  ** By direct correlation I mean the more I blog the more chaotic every other aspect of my life becomes. I wasn’t sure if I was using the term in the correct sense so I attempted to clarify this. Through a quick google I came across this webpage http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Correlation_and_dependence . It didn’t help with my original query but it does answer a question that I have asked myself before. Namely ‘Should I have followed a career is statistics?’ 

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

11 responses to “compromise

  1. Dear Rose, I would be sad if you stopped blogging completely so I am pleased you have reached a compromise:) I thought it ironic that the more you blog the more you have to actually blog about…namely the ‘chaos’ surrounding you. It’s sounds like Frodo is finding a new niche since you started blogging which must be encouraging…I wonder if Bilbo would step up to the challenge? – it has been some time since I last blogged. I have found that I need to feel quite strongly about something to write a blog post.

    I like your top tip ‘use it or lose it’! One last thing…with the bank holiday affect this coming weeks blog post?

    Emma xx

    • The bank holiday will not get in the way of my new blog regime but Zumba has been cancelled so will not be included in the content.
      Your comment suggests that Bilbo is not already a vital part of the domestic task duties. I was a little surprised by this but I guess he is too busy adventuring into the land beyond home.

      • well, yes, Bilbo does do quite a lot already… repetition over the years has helped to instill quite a good habit with some domestic duties…new ones need direction from me which is to be expected.

  2. I look forward to reading your blog Rose, so am going to be waiting in anticipation from Monday to Friday each week.

  3. Rose I have been away for a few days, a week at least . Picture the scene I was in my cosy room in Holland and just before I dropped off to sleep I worried that you might have missed me. Your statistics would have dipped and I wondered what was happening in the amazing world of Rose. I am back and have had an action packed few days at home. Far too busy to even hoover but now my first proper ‘job’ is to read the back log of amazing life of rose blog posts. Don’t worry really your posts are so fantastic that even just once a week would be fantastic.
    And just to let you know I didn’t get that job that I had the interview for but I am happy that at least I got a new blouse out of it!

    • I did miss you and I am pleased to hear that you were otherwise engaged rather than that you had given up reading altogether. Your comments have got my Sunday off to a very smiley start 🙂 (except the job bit, sorry to hear you didn’t get it).
      The Zumba felting sounds fab. I bet the little ones had a great time. I can’t see the comment just now that said how many but I was impressed when I read it!

  4. Rhiannon

    You had better not stop blogging. It would leave a gaping hole ion my life Rose! xxxx

  5. Jane

    You may have noticed my absence over the last week or so, I have been returning to work and going to a school reunion (now that would be something worth blogging about!!!) It is with great delight that I sit down tonight in my own living room to catch up on 4 days of blogging, thank-you for your continued dedication to the blog, it never fails to make me smile. x (and now I am off to get get an envelope for my booking form, THAT WOMAN has been hassling me on Facebook!!!!!)

  6. I have some sort of block that stops me making the final move needed to send off THAT FORM. Have YOU actually done it now??
    I’m looking forward to hearing about the school reunion. I saw the facebook pics : )

Leave a Reply

