When is a bargain not a bargain?

It is with regret that I am informing you that Brown Sandals were not successful in their bid for ‘great bargain’ status in the Footwear category today. They easily met the eligibility criteria, which is to be purchased for less than £10 and early signs towards meeting the fit for purpose criteria were very promising. However by lunch-time their performance was causing concern. The tightness of the top strap of the sandals combined with the looseness of the lower straps across the toes led to a two pronged attack on both feet. Once again I was in considerable pain walking down my street at 3pm. Due to their lack of success they will be returning to the underbed holding area where they will stay until next summer when they will no doubt take part in their annual attempt to reach ‘great bargain’ status. It is quite crowded in the holding area. The ‘pretty black shoes from Asda’ and the ‘I just have to have those red clogs’ are just two of the other contenders for the title. The holding area is also home to other footwear which does not fall into the potential ‘great bargain’ category. The much loved boxer boots from the early eighties lie there waiting for the day when it will seem the right time to wear them again. The right occassion for the relatively expensive high heeled boots has also been elusive and so they too languish under the bed.

Although this blog has focussed on the Footwear category, there are many other categories in which ‘great bargain’ status can be achieved, or more likely not achieved in my expeience. In the Household Items category the eligibilty criteria isn’t as rigid and any cheaply priced item can qualify. Unfortunately, there is a high failure rate in meeting the fit for purpose criteria. I am regularly reminded of this when I use the pound shop oven gloves. It goes against logic but part of me holds onto the hope that somehow they will develop some heatproof properties. They may have caused me to drop a few oven trays but they are so strong in the cheap stakes that I can’t give up on them just yet.

If you are a regular reader you may recall my satisfaction when son’s friend’s parents called round to discuss holiday plans and their visit coincided with one of my infrequent tidy ups. Well there was no such happy coincidence earlier this evening when they brought the booking details round unannounced!! Frodo who has very little sense of decorum answered the door and invited them in!! I tried to head them off at the doorway to the living room and contain them in the hallway but got there too late to prevent them entering the living room. This would have been bad enough on its own given the piles of letters, papers, bags, clothes and shoes which have accumlated at rapid speed over the past week but even worse was the fact that the door to the front room was open!! In my defence, much of the ‘stuff’ in there is there as a result of D2’s house move but there is no denying it would not look out of place on Hoarders Next Door. D1 has taken this opportunity to add ammunition to her campaign to make me “GET RID OF STUFF”. Maybe I should start with some of the ‘great bargains’ that haven’t lived up to expectations.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

One response to “When is a bargain not a bargain?

  1. I’m a great believer in removing the evidence of a failed bargain purchase. Out of sight out of mind is my motto!

Leave a Reply

