Each to their own (with reservations)

socks still there

The weather around my home has been glorious today. It was lovely to see all the people in their summer clothes enjoying the sunshine. However my ‘each to their own’ belief was severely tested as it came into conflict with my beliefs about what is appropriate in a particular situation. What people choose to wear is their own buisness versus the attack on my sensibiliities when their choices don’t fit with my idea of correctness. For example is it ok for a person to wear a scarf in the house? Not really if I have to witness it because it makes me feel very uneasy. Is it ok for Frodo to wear a scarf in the house? Definitely not if I have to witness it because it makes me feel very uneasy and sparks off a rush of silent rage inside me. I also have a set impression of how clothes should be worn. The sight of a slipper balancing on Frodo’s toe as he sits crossed legged on the sofa, swinging the offending foot/slipper, brings me close to carrying out a physical assualt.

Today’s clothing episode didn’t involve what people were wearing. It involved what they weren’t wearing. A burst of sunshine and suddenly men are walking down the street with no shirt on! It wasn’t so hot that a thin layer of clothing would be unbearable. In fact one of these men was wearing jeans and a jacket tied round his waist. How hot must his bottom have been? Where’s the logic in stripping off half of your body and wrapping up the other half? An urban street dictates top and trousers (mid thigh shorts an absolute minimum length). It did cross my mind to shout ‘get a shirt on’ out of the car window but I’m rarely that impulsive so I held my feelings in.

Oh Yuk. Just had a very unpleasant experience. I just noticed what appeared to be a spot of chocolate on my t shirt and being a very tidy person (ahem) I immediately scooped it up and popped it in my mouth. My sense of taste sprang into action and I was horrified as it dawned on me that it was in fact a blob of cold conjealed gravy. Having no available receptacle in which to spit it into I had no option but to swallow it. To make matters worse there is an emotional dimension to the physical calamity. Now that I have given the matter a little more thought, I have recalled that the ice cream I had was vanilla not chocolate so I am now feeling rather cross with myself for bringing this whole horrible event upon myself.

Perhaps the impetuous streak that caused me to stick an unknown brown substance into my mouth is the same thing that caused those men to strip off their shirts. There is a lot to be said for not acting on impulse and I suspect there will be a few sun burnt men considering the wisdom of their earlier display of flesh.

No progress on the Grease outfit. If I’d acted on an impulse last night I’d have been sitting here with a home cut short back and sides wondering how I could fashion a quiff with the remaining hair. 24 hours. Eeeeeeeeeeeeek!!!

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

3 responses to “Each to their own (with reservations)

  1. Jane Brown

    Pick those bloomin’ socks up!

    Well put Rose, I agree that it isn’t really pleasant to have half naked people walking around in public places, it’s particularly bad if you have to travel on public transport with them and there is that ever present danger of physical contact with that naked shiny, moist skin. Ugggh!

    Oh, and I’d burn Ford’s slippers too!

    • my sock resolve is weakening, Jane so there may be closure soon.

      Is putting the thought of physical contact with one of ‘those men’ into my mind your way of getting revenge? I’m finding it hard to shift the image now. shuuuudder.

  2. Jane Brown

    Sorry Rose! And that should have been Frodo’s slippers I would burn, don’t know who Ford is or what he does with his slippers.

Leave a Reply

