IRONING?

Day 15- socks still on the floor.

In yesterday’s blog I mentioned ironing a T – shirt. In response I received this comment on facebook ‘IRONING? posted by the woman who once cast aspirtions on my cautious driving. It then crossed my mind that several readers may be wondering what ‘ironing’ is. My first response was to google it but ‘pressing clothes with a hot tool’ is rather unsatisfactory so I will endeavour to explain my take on ironing. To be honest I’m not overly familiar with it but I’ll do my best. I’m not directing this to the general public, who will be well aware of the activity; rather it’s for the type of people I tend to mix with. Basically, it is ‘pressing clothes with a hot tool’. However this simple definition belies the complexities of ironing. It appears most ironing is done so that clothes, bed linen, towels etc are smooth and unwrinkled until they have been worn/used for a few minutes, at which point they no longer look freshly ironed. From my own observations I’ve concluded there is a huge variation in both the frequency in which people engage in the activity and what items are deemed to require ironing. I briefly dabbled in ironing full sets of washing but soon gave up on this as my washing to wardrobe/cupboard technique includes a delay in transferring items to the storage areas, which tends to result in a loss of the ‘just ironed look’. This, coupled with the ‘stuffing’ action necessary to get them into the storage and subsequent rummaging to find things, renders them back to the original unironed state. Bizarrely given the quantity of ironing I do, I have three irons. All have black bits on the plates caused by burning mishaps. The black bits get added to regularly and at some point I invest in a new iron but retain the old one ‘just in case’. In an attempt to be seen by my children as a normal parent I do iron school shirts. Best frocks are ironed as and when required. I have reasons for everything I iron. The Zumba T shirt was because a crumpled T shirt might leave “that woman’s T shirt was in a right state” in some people’s minds instead of “that woman’s got the best moves in the place”. Mostly I do it because I think a lot of people (dedicated ironers) will feel sorry for me if they see me wearing wrinkly clothes. Instead I feel sorry for myself for wasting my time on a pointless task. It can be useful to dry wet/damp clothes that are needed in a hurry. One of side effects of ironing which I do get some pleasure from is when Frodo discovers the ironing board I’ve left up and has a mini tantrum as he folds it down.

A word about the person who did once cast aspirtions on my cautious driving. It would be too strong to say I bear a grudge but I think it’s a bit off when you drive someone to a National Trust property and then they have a go about the speed you drive. There’s nothing wrong with my driving. I have only been stopped by the police three times in connection with my driving. Once for not wearing a seatbelt, once for driving the wrong way down the M62 and once for ..……oh ………driving too slowly.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

4 responses to “IRONING?

  1. Erin

    and you wonder where i get having tantrums from!

  2. Jane Brown

    The wrong way down the M62? Really??

    As for ironing – 2 pairs of school trousers once a week in term time.

  3. Yes really. It was blocked and after being stationary for two hours a message filtered down the line that the police were telling people to turn round. I was one of a few who took this as a cue to turn round and drive down the wrong way, only to be stopped a few yards along by a police officer who informed me I was breaking the law. Apparently he could have arrested me and told me not to do it again unless told to directly by a police officer (Mmm, not something I’m in the habit of doing). The police were in fact telling people to turn round but from the back of the queue first so we had to wait our turn.

Leave a Reply

