Home sweet home

It has occurred to me that reading a daily blog is a huge commitment and that some people might not feel they can give that commitment. I understand.  I can also accept that for some people there will be a time to move on, a time to experience the heady days only a new blog can bring. In light of this I will start each day with a sock update for those who want a metaphorical quickie without taking things any further but need some sort of closure before they abandon the blog completely.

Sock Update – Socks have moved!!! Not off the floor but they are now lying under the radiator. I suspect this is the work of eldest daughter who had a friend round last night. Current betting odds for ‘pick up’ are Frodo (OH) – 10/1,  Son – 20/1, Eldest daughter – 20/1,  Second daughter – 35/1,  Rose – 50/1 (past form would put this at evens but I have inside information regarding her current mental state). Odds for ‘time’  are   Today – 60/1, next week – 20/1, next month – evens.

Moving on. I went out last night! And didn’t get in til 2 o’clock this morning!!!! I know young people do this and have heard about older women doing it on a regular basis but I’m usually far too busy with the dramatic happenings within my own home to ‘go out’. On the whole it was a very enjoyable experience. It did have its low points and difficult times but ended on a high. The lowest point was arriving at the venue and discovering the potentially soul destroying fact that Son’s football presentation night would involve watching the Champions League match. A rush of alternatives flashed through my mind – watch the football (no), go and look round B&Q (no), sit in a corner alone (no), sit in a corner with Frodo (no, no), drive home (no), sit in car and use time constructively (yes). So now my month’s backlog of undeleted txts has been deleted (I tend to hoard txts and it takes at least a month to let them go) and my blog details have been txtd to everyone in my address book (not sure if GPs receptionist will be that interested tbh). A dad came out twice for a cigarette and I began to worry that he’d think it was a bit odd I was still sitting in the car so I returned to venue.

Moving on. As the manager described the Goal of the Season even I was impressed by the skill of the player who had raced down the wing, outwitting and outskilling 6 or 7 players, before putting the ball in the back of the net (that’s football jargon for scoring a goal). Then it turned out it was my son!! Wow, so proud.

Moving on, literally. Some of the attendees moved onto a player’s house. Time for a bit of house envy. I suffer this almost every time I enter someone else’s house. This house was a 10 on my scale for style and orderliness. Houses featured on ‘How clean is your house’ and ‘Hoarders’ are a 1. My house hovers around 5 but can drop to 3 or occasionally rise to 7, the general state of decoration and mix n match furniture preventing anything above this. Fluctuating Fives will identify completely with this. My feelings about it fluctuate too. Some days I look around and see and feel the unique, homely, lived in ambience. Other days I weep internally as I survey the scruffiness and junk and breathe in the acid smell of the cat litter tray that needs changing yet again. My children don’t have such a range of feelings towards the house. Their range is from ‘this house is a tip’ to a very unflattering description which I don’t want to share just now. They are very dissatisfied with my interior design, hoarding tendency and the low priority I give to housework. Annoyingly, this dissatisfaction has not yet prompted them to do anything practical to remedy the situation.

The dishevelled state of the house and garden is in part due to the gap between Frodo’s self perception of his DIY prowess and his actual ability/skills. You may have heard of or experienced the stage in a project where ‘it gets worse before it gets better’.  Frodo’s projects do indeed make things worse at which point he invariably ‘has a break’. Myself and the children used to eagerly await the get better bit. Now we just wait. Hope ebbing away.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

11 responses to “Home sweet home

  1. Jane Brown

    I think my house is a 4 most of the time, rising to a 6 on a good day. Good days are usually Mondays unless I’m at work on that day. Worst days are Sundays after the 3 male persons have sat around all weekend littering, loitering, slouching, snoring (guess who?) and never putting anything back where they find it (a bit like the sock-saga). On Mondays I can have a blitz when all are back at school/work and then I can relax and enjoy the “tidiness”, otherwise known as collapsing on the sofa knackered.

  2. Debbie V

    Thanks for introducing me to read your blog you have brightened up my day made me laugh(which is someting I don’t do often!!!)
    Rose the house was tidied and de-cluttered before your visit so don’t be to envious. I too have sock episodes in my house I just don’t have your resolve 3 days is my max. Loving the saga

  3. Erin

    first frodo made a mess of the house but that wasn’t good enough so he had to make a mess of the garden as well!!!

  4. Rose this is superb really made me laugh forget the housework and just keep blogging xx

  5. frillipmoolog

    your best ever Rose. xxxx

  6. denise

    just read the whole lot rose and this larst
    page and the hairdressers is particulaly brilliant!! What scale would you put mine on Rose I wonder……….

Leave a Reply

