Inner thoughts v public personna

Recieved this message this morning. “Have you sent your booking form?”

Inner thoughts – F***ing hell. What’s wrong with her? Doesn’t she realise I have a hundred and one things to think about. I’ll send her an email back “Stop hassling me! I know I was meant to send it weeks ago, I don’t need you to tell me”  Booking form, booking form, booking form!!! (Aargh) I get hassle from my family, well one of my family, every week “Have you booked camp yet mum?” NO. Who cares anyway, even if it gets booked up they’ll let me go. I’m a regular and if they start saying ‘Ooo but we agreed at the meeting that we wouldn’t go over the numbers.’  What meeting was that then??? The one where we said we wouldn’t but then said we would or the one where we said we would but then said we wouldn’t but then said we’d book an extra site and then we would or the one where everyone got overheated discussing dogs and nothing was else was decided!!!! Anyway I wrote the minutes of the last meeting so I can say I forgot to put in that we agreed ‘regulars’ don’t have to book. (Oh sh*t, that reminds I haven’t written up the minutes, oh God where are they?? Now  I want to shout at the message sender ‘See what you’ve DONE, see what you’ve DONE. Now I’ve got something else to worry about!!’

Inner thoughts turn on me – Why didn’t you do it as soon as you got it?? Its not her you’re mad at, its yourself. Same old, same old. Never get round to doing anything. You’re just making it more difficult for booking person. Oh God, where are those minutes?

Public Personna – Sent message back “save a place for us : ) ” Made a mental note to do form today. Not done yet. Hey ho.

Socks interfered with my ‘monthly’ tidy up (monthly is approximate, my tidying schedule is influenced by many things, the calendar isn’t one of them though). Swept around them and they are now very visible as the rest of the stuff has been picked upoff the floor. This led an uncomfortable situation. Son is going on holiday with friend’s family. Friend is going too, (not just Owen and friend’s family). They rang earlier asked if they could pop round to discuss things. Fine I said, feeling a tingle of pleasure at the happy coincidence that this request came just after I’d tidied. I forgot to take into account the state of the hallway so ten minutes of frantic tidying ensued. When I say tidying I mean ‘throwing piles of stuff’ into the kitchen and shutting the door. Unfortunately there wasn’t time to do anything about the front garden but the feeling of shame did spur me into going to buy weedkiller after they’d left. I’ll go and do the garden later. oh its gone 6, best leave that for tomorrow. Back to the socks. Friend’s parents, who I’ve never met, arrived. All was going well til I noticed the socks then I lost all focus on what they were saying and instead fixed my eyes on them and tried to work out if they’d noticed the socks. They probably thought I was a bit odd and for a few moments I did question my decision to start the investigation as it occured to me that if I was to explain to friend’s parents why they were there It would sound like I was a bit mad. But I’m not one to give up (well I am if it involves any physical or mental exertion but this doesn’t) so I’ve brushed those thoughts under the sofa, which is where some of the dust is that I noticed after I’d put the dustpan away. My physical exertion only stretched to sweeping it under sofa not walking to the kitchen for the dustpan.

Interestingly, another pair of socks appeared in the other room which is rarely used. They could have been there sometime but were only noticed by daughter number 1 today. She picked them up and dropped them in the hallway, saying ‘someone’s left some socks here’. They were scooped up in the hall tidy so are now somewhere in a pile of shoes, papers, bags and other stuff in the kitchen!

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

2 responses to “Inner thoughts v public personna

  1. frillipmoolog

    There’s a sock conspiracy going on in your house. Don’t let them get to you…..

Leave a Reply

