hairdresser heaven

Preparation for an interview took over my evening yesterday so blogging was put on hold. I was feeling a little despondent earlier after finding out that a £33 haircut and new top does not guarantee you a job. A Sainsbury’s Belgian Chocoale Choux Bun has lifted my spirits though and no doubt the bottle of wine, which is chilling in the fridge as I type, will raise them even higher.

I have been pleasantly surprised by the positive reaction I’ve had to my blog and have been feeling quite Susan Boylish – my hidden talent now lighting up the lives of so many. But my lack of self belief is creeping in – am I actually one of the X factor rejects who sing appallingly and then say their friends and family have told them they are brilliant!! How could they actually believe that?? Now fear I have fallen victim to the very same thing. Could it be that those well meaning comments are just adding to my deluded state? Was I too quick to start picturing ‘The Amazing Life of Rose’ on the shelves at Waterstones (in-joke there for some of you)? I’ve just had another thought – what if Zumba teacher’s praise is just making me feel like Flavia when I’m actually more Ann Widecombe. No, that’s silly. I know I am good at Zumba. Actually being deluded makes me happy so I’ll blog on.

Hairdressers. What an adventure. Do any of you go? If you don’t you should try it. I go about every 5 years. The advances in hairwashing seating arrangements is phenonemal. Only 30 years ago it wasn’t uncommon to have to lean over a basin face down. Back in those days I wore make up and remember the sinking feeling I got as water trickled across my face. Then some places started using the lean back technique. Make up was safe but neckache and wet backs were almost unavoidable. Changes in shape of basins and chairs with a leanback feature improved the experience but nothing prepared me for what I experienced yesterday. I was welcomed into the hair spa (I think this means posh hairdressers) and had to fill out a consultation form. Seemed a bit pointless, here’s a sample. Do you use hairdryers or straighners? No. What styling products do you use? None. Which shampoo do you use? Whatever’s on offer. How long do you spend on your hair daily? 2 minutes (I over exaggerated that one). After that I was led into the hairwashing room. A whole room just for hairwashing. The chair was what could only be described as luxurious and when I was asked to lean back – wow! The whole chair moved, the seat slid forward, my legs raised up and the back eased back until my neck was resting on the towel cushion at the edge of the basin. There were tv screens on the wall showing film of fish swimming. These were tilted so that while your hair was being washed you could still watch the fish. This wasn’t quite as relaxing as it sounds because I was torn between the urge to close my eyes as soon as water was in the vicinity of my head and the desire to watch the fish. I did a bit of both.

The rest of the visit didn’t quite live up to this magnificent starter but the coffee was delicious and the hairdresser pleasingly restrained in the quanity of chit chat she instigated. Paid the £33 by creditcard and then had the agonising choice of leaving no tip, a £5 tip or asking for change from the fiver. I believe I did the ‘right’ thing by going way over the 10% rule but this didn’t sit well with my sense of ‘correctness’.

Socks still there. I did think of uploading a photo but couldn’t summon the enthusiasm to find out how to do this and, as my OH pointed out, it might unsettle Jane. (OH abbreviation for own hobbit – another in joke but for different people this time)

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

4 responses to “hairdresser heaven

  1. Jane Brown

    Thanks Rose, for your kind consideration of my feelings. x

  2. Rose, you are a natural-born entertainer. I knew it from the moment I saw you skewering your kids with alcohol-fuelled precision round a very late-night campfire. “Oh God Mo-omm! You are soooo embarrassing”
    Write on Rose, and brighten my drab existence…

    • Dave, after all the years of your entertaining I’ve enjoyed, I’m very happy to hear I can bring a little brightness to your existence, which is far from drab. I used to think mine was but just this morning I was caught up in a weedkiller debate. Its a minefield.

  3. frillipmoolog

    All I can think of is you elevated and lowered headfirst into the hair washing basin. The whole fish thing made me think of a James Bond film. Rose your life really is amazing.

Leave a Reply

