The trouble with Martin

Sometimes I wish I had a hassle free life but that’s not going to happen so I’m hoping sharing on this blog will be a case of a problem shared is a problem halved. One of my ‘problems’ just now is coming to terms with Martin’s behaviour. (not his real name, well it is actually but he’s not known by that name). He’s always been pretty easy going and generally doesn’t cause me much anxiety but over the last few weeks his assertive streak has turned into  defiance. At first I thought he might just not be hearing me but then I had to admit that he was and was just choosing to ignore me. Its got to the point now where he basically does what he likes. He’s been staying out later and later and we’ve no idea what time he’ll be home. One night last week at almost midnight, we had a confrontation outside with me telling him to get back in the house and him giving me a ‘you can’t make me’ look before walking off. I was tempted to lock the door and go to bed. But then he’d have come back and I know I wouldn’t have been able to ignore him so would have ended up getting up in the early hours to let him in. As it was I stayed up, worrying about him for the next couple of hours. I doubt he gave me a second thought. He finally came sauntering in at about 2am and expected me to feed him!!!! There has been a cat curfew since then and both cats are now locked in by 8pm!

If anyone (maybe the lady with the well stocked toilet, you know who you are) has been wondering what led the wee decision to become a non decision read on. After giving it some thought I’ve come to the conclusion that somewhere on the way from my brain to my bladder, the message ‘the key is in the front door’ gets turned into ‘the bathroom door is opening’. I couldn’t cope with the ensuing rush and panic anymore so I do whatever I can to avoid this situation.

Socks are still there.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

4 responses to “The trouble with Martin

  1. Jane Brown

    Don’t do this to me Rose, if you keep telling me that the socks are still there I am going to have to come round your house and pick them up or I won’t rest easy in my bed!

    • I don’t want to be the cause of any sleepless nights but if you did come round you’d find various items of clothing dotted around the house which have been there much longer than 9 days.

      • Jane Brown

        It’s not just the fact that they are there, it’s the fact that she’s telling me, and counting days, and I am helpless to act.

  2. Jackie

    Wha ha ha, more gems in the amazinglifeofrose….. it’s like Christmas every day!

Leave a Reply

