o…

o

Sorry to those who have looked here to read something amusing today. I’m feeling a bit grumpy so have decided to offload on my blog. On my journey to work there is a bus stop, well there are several bus stops but I’m only going to write about one. Some of the others have touched on my annoyance radar. Like the one that’s situated just round a corner and if a bus is stopped there I have to brake quickly and then end up too close to be able to edge round the bus. Plus I am now even closer to the corner than the bus and so worry that the next car round won’t brake quickly enough and run into the back of me. Oh, now I’ve written about another bus stop so in fact will be writing about more than one. Actually now I’m thinking about it I do have several bus stop issues. Anyway back to the original one – this one is on a clear stretch of road and often I drive by without noticing it, which is what I’d like to do every time BUT at certain times of the day 2 teenage schoolgirls sit on the curb at the bus stop with their legs dangling into the road. They must know that every driver has to pull out slightly to avoid their legs and then spends the next few minutes running through a scenario in their heads where they stop the car, get out, walk back to the girls and explain to them that they are not only being inconsiderate but also putting themselves in danger. Then later in the day the driver gets flashbacks and feeels annoyed that the girls have got away with causing mini turmoil in the driver’s life. Then feels annoyed that they didn’t stop the car and do something about it. How many drivers are sitting at home now unsettled by thoughts of legs in the road?? It can’t just be me can it?? This repeated experience does explain why I had a ‘what is the world coming to’ moment last night when I saw 3 young people at a different bus stop, on the kerb, doing the same thing!!!

Back in my teenage years I may have lit a fire in a bus shelter at 2 o’clock in the morning to keep warm but I’d never dangle my legs in the road at a bus stop or anywhere else.

I am carrying out an investigation. Its called ‘how long will the socks stay on the living room floor?’ This involves checking daily whether a pair of socks, which were removed from the feet of one of my family members and dropped on the living room floor a week ago, are still there. It is very similar to other investigations I’ve done – like ‘how long will the overnight holdall stay in the hallway?’ and ‘how long will the half tin of beans stay in the fridge?’ The difference with this one is that if anyone reads this then someone will know I’m doing it. I usually never tell anyone what I’m doing and then by the time the result occurs I feel my findings will be met with derision. (I did google that word and its exactly what I wanted). I will keep any readers informed of the progress of the investigation. 8 days is the current length.

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

5 responses to “o…

  1. frillipmoolog

    Crying with laughter… (insert pictures of tears here).

  2. frillipmoolog

    Just to add the but stop stuff was not at all funny but it led the reader innocently to the really funny stuff Your research into how long things can stay in one place.

    • Thank you for that Kirsty. I’ll take on board your constructive critisism, as they say on X Factor. Look out for more meaningless household family stuff.

      • frillipmoolog

        Nothing to criticise Rose, your blog is pure genius. I felt lulled along by by the first half of the post and then you got me hook line and sinker with your last research bit. As they say with comedy, ‘it’s all about timing’, and you’ve got it.

  3. Jane Brown

    Oh Rose,

    You are so patient! 8 days!!! I can’t leave it more than 4 for most things, and socks in the living room is probably a 2!

Leave a Reply

