Zumba Diaries

Tonight was Zumba night. I’m not sure what her ‘official’ title is but the teacher/leader/tutor/wonderful woman was, as always, bubbly and bouncy. I was, as always, bouncy too but in different places to her (in more ways than one). Every Monday follows the same pattern. Arrive full of confidence that I know the moves, class starts and within seconds it is clear I don’t know the moves, half an hour of trying to follow moves, 25 minutes of doing my own moves, 5 minutes of being in time with everyone else (this is the slow cool down part and only took me 8 sessions to pick up) and finally decline the offer of joining in with sit ups. Throughout this, ‘wonderful women’ is throwing out words of encouragement and I feel personally congratulated every time she says ‘good everyone’. She steps, jumps, adds the arms, twists those hips, goes lower, puts in turns and calls out instructions but she never gets out of breath. I am well impressed. Occassionally I rise from the bottom of the ‘keeping up’ league when someone new joins the class but by week 2 they have overtaken me. Luckily, I’m near the top of the ‘carry on regardless’ league.

Driving home from work today, I was thinking how some decisions go full circle. Like the one you have to make when you are about leave work and you are beginning to feel like you need a wee. Twenty years ago I wouldn’t give it more than a seconds thought – I’d just hang on til I got home. Ten years ago it took quite a long time to weigh up the situation, how long would the journey be, what if I got stuck in traffic, how much had I drunk, how much did I feel the need to wee etc – decision could go either way. Today, not even a seconds thought – headed straight to the ladies.

 

 

About stephanieroseishere

My life is amazing on a small scale and I can make it sound super amazing! It is unlikely I'll ever climb Mount Everest but I often navigate the mountain of stuff that accumlates at an alarming rate in various rooms in my house. My household consists of me, my OH (Frodo), my two daughters (D1 and D2) and my son (Son). Recently I read this somewhere “If I make someone smile today then my day has been worthwhile” or something like that. By writing this blog I hope to make many people smile but if only I read it I’ll be smiling anyway. I would love to get your comments and will endeavour to respond to any I get.

5 responses to “Zumba Diaries

  1. Erin

    very funny mum! 🙂 can’t wait to read tomorrow

  2. frillipmoolog

    We need video responses to leave our comments here. So no video yet? well I’ll describe my reaction then. Closed mouth tittering. Staring at the ‘puter screen to re-read your last sentence and then covered my mouth with my hand for more muffled tittering. (Nearly wet myself.)

  3. Catherine

    Great blog Rose! !

Leave a Reply

